A friend of music at First Congregational Church is someone like you!

403 South Jefferson Ave.
Saginaw, MI 48607



Tuesday, March 11, 2014

De Sousa and Dedos Duo to Perform and Offer Postlude Recital

Miguel Luis Inocencio De Sousa, a guest classical pianist from Portugal completing an advanced music degree at Central Michigan University, will offer special music by Brahms, Rachmaninoff, and Ravel at First Congregational Church’s Sunday morning worship on April 6, at 10:30 a.m.  The public is also invited to a thirty-minute postlude recital for piano and saxophone that same day.  The Dedos Duo, with members Miguel Sousa and Dylan Edwards, will perform music by George Gershwin, Darius Milhuad, and Ástor Piazzolla.

Miguel Sousa completed a degree in piano performance with pianist Antonio Rosado. In 2013, Miguel received a full graduate assistantship at Central Michigan University, where he is pursuing a MM degree in piano performance.  Sousa has performed in Portugal, the United Kingdom, Italy, Sweden, and the United States.

Born and raised in Mount Pleasant, Michigan, Dylan Edwards began his education as a classical saxophonist with John Nichol at Central Michigan University. Dylan, in his final undergraduate year at CMU, performs actively in recitals and competitions.  He is the soprano saxophonist in the award-winning quartet Revelations, founded at CMU in 2010.  Revelations has received several distinctions, including First Prize in the 2014 SAI Small Ensemble competition and second place in the MTNA National Chamber Music Competition.

No comments:

Post a Comment